SCHOOL DISTRICT OF WEST DE PERE REGULAR BOARD MEETING WEST DE PERE DISTRICT OFFICE March 17, 2025 5:30 PM

Board members present: Fuss, Borley, Van Den Heuvel, Dorn, Van Deurzen Board members excused: None

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 PM by Board President Fuss followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. President Fuss stated that the area news media had been notified of the meeting as required by open meeting law and state statutes.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to accept the agenda. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The board recognized Anthony Vissers, 8th grader, for being the Regional Spelling Bee Champion and applauded his accomplishment. Also recognized were the High School Wrestlers that competed at the State Competition: Braylon Stegall, Thomas Heraly, Rayanah Yates, and Coach Gallegos. The State Champion Ice Bears Girls Hockey Team: Jordyn Clarke, Alanna Dunks, Malin Jewitt, Elizabeth Zunker, Reese Spiering, and Assistant Coach Shane Dickson. The Girls High School Basketball Team that competed at State: Seniors Madisyn Berggren, Ella Francois, Alivia Koltz, Mia Racine, Anna Rattray, Faith Walder, and Coach Abaray. The Board thanked all of them for their hard work and dedication and making us all proud!

Superintendent Lau thanked Scott Eggart, High School Athletic Director, for all his efforts with athletics.

The meeting was opened to the floor to enable district residents to bring items of general concern to the attention of the Board. No concerns were presented.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that the February 10, 2025 regular meeting minutes be approved as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that the Treasurer's Report be approved. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley that previously paid bills to Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built be approved. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Ryan Van Den Heuvel abstained. Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that previously paid bills be approved excluding bills from Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to adopt the following policy as presented:

• 4264 Native American Liaison Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Committee Chair, Scott Borley gave a verbal update regarding the Finance Committee Meeting.

Committee Chair, Barbara Van Deurzen reviewed the February 6, 2025 Curriculum and Policy Committee report.

Teaching staff gave the Board on update on how students performed on the Act 20 testing. Superintendent Lau thanked all involved and for the students for a job well done.

Amy LaPierre, Director of Curriculum, presented the new ELA curriculum material. Teachers also explained the process they used to chose the new K-4 curriculum and how they will implement it.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve the new ELA Curriculum for grades K-4 as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve rescinding Policy 5117.5 Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Sex in Education Programs or Activities: Title IX as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Superintendent Lau presented information regarding the school safety program, Raptor.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen to approve the memo regarding purchasing the school safety program, Raptor as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Mike Kowalczyk, Associate Principal and Summer School Director, spoke about the 2025 summer school courses. The Board thanked him for all the choices available to students

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley to approve the 2025 Summer School courses as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Superintendent Lau talked to the Board about the upcoming board meeting dates and board workshops that will be scheduled at a later date. The Board discussed the dates and changed several of the dates.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley to approve the upcoming Board meeting dates, with the changes included. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve all staffing items as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Superintendent Lau lead a discussion with the Board about the 2025-2026 school calendar. Discussion ensued. He also presented the 2026-2027 school calendar to discuss when the large breaks would take place.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen to approve the 2025-2026 school calendar changes as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Jason Lau, Superintendent, gave the Board an update, which included voting dates and what the referendum will accomplish. The Board thanked him for the update.

The Board was presented with various reports and communications: such as updates, various thank you's, invitations, and calendar items.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley at 6:21 PM that the meeting be adjourn into closed session as previously stated. Voting Yes: Van Den Heuvel, Borley, Dorn, Fuss, Van Deurzen Voting No: None Motion carried

The Board reconvened at 7:46 PM.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel at 7:46 PM that the meeting be adjourned. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried

Barbara Van Deurzen Clerk